Types Of Red Wine

Well, the fact is that different types of red wine or for that matter different types of wine are both topics that can be talked on and on .But what we want to do here is to quickly summarize without drawing a yawn from the readers but all the while giving the required information they are searching for.

So, let me get down to the different types without much ado and with your blessings, let’s begin. Red wine is classified based on numerous facts.

Classification by color:

Red wine Classification by color of red wine may sound a bit perplexing because red wine is always red, right? Yes, but the fact that not all red grapes around the world have the same color shade makes it a very interesting classification. The grapes around the world can range from a reddish tinge to a deep purple and sometimes blue too! And these different colors of grape skins give the red wine their unique color and based on the color the wine is described as garnet, dark red, light red, deep violet, maroon and also black. The change in the color of the wine is due to the fact that grape type may differ and also the tannins present in different red grapes. A good example would be Zinfandel which has a pink/rose color instead of the deep red as the grape skins are quickly removed.

Classification by body type:

Red wine classification by body typeRed wine may be classified based on its body style. What we mean here by body type is that the feel that the wines give to the drinker. There is light-bodied wine, medium-bodied wine, full-bodied wine. These wines are also classified by the amount of tannins present in them. While a light-bodied wine has lesser amount of tannins and alcohol content the full-bodied wine will be high on the alcohol and tannin content. Wines like Tempranillo lie between both medium and full bodied with low acidity and a high full fruit flavor.

Few examples of different bodied wines would be:

1. Beaujolais Nouveau — Light bodied wine.

2. Merlot — Medium Bodied

3. Shiraz — Medium Bodied

4. Chianti — Medium Bodied

5. France’s Bordeaux — Full bodied

6. Italy’s Super Tuscans – Full bodied.

Classification by Sweet content:


Red wine or for that matter wines in general have to distinct taste. Either they are dry wine or Sweet wine. Red wine is classified as Dry Red wine and Sweet Red wine. Dry red wine would mean that this wine would have a low amount of sweetness in it. A dry wine will have converted all its sugar to alcohol during the fermentation during wine preparation. However, a sweet wine has a sweet flavor to it which indicates that the whole sugar present in the grapes has not been converted to alcohol thus giving a different taste to the wine.

Different Sweet red wines are:

1. Port

2. Lambrusco

3. Beaujolais Nouveau

4. Bauer Haus Dornfelder

5. Ca’ Togni

6. Chapinha Sweet Red

Dry wines are:

1. Cabernet Sauvignon

2. Cabernet Franc

3. Pinot Noir

4. Merlot

5. Sangiovese

6. Shiraz/Syrah

7. Zinfandel

8. Tempranillo

Classification based on variety and Region:

grape red wineRed wine is classified based on the variety of grapes used and the places grapes are grown. Certain wines are famous by their region names. How about, “Bordeaux”, made in France and containing Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Merlot grapes. In Italy it is Chianti and in Argentina it is Malbec (quite famous, mind you!). Also present based on the varietal are Piedmont’s Barolo and Barbaresco wines made up of Nebbiolo varietal.

Few examples of varietal wine are:

1. Syrah or Shiraz

2. Merlot

3. Cabernet sauvignon

4. Malbec

5. Pinot Noir

6. Zinfandel

7. angiovese

8. Arbera

So, all you wine lovers, you know the varieties and you know the names. What are you waiting for? The next time you are at wine tasting event or out for a dinner with your girlfriend, fiancé or friends and family, impress them all with your knowledge of wine and their classification. It’s always good to know what you are drinking and why it is classified

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.